Past events
2026 Spring Meeting
WEST RIDING Part II
Friday, 15 May: Evening lecture at 5:30 pm in central Halifax
AGM and The Lamp of Knowledge: the Symbol of the Society of Antiquaries
The AGM will begin at 16.45 followed by our President, Nathalie Cohen's lecture at 17.00.
Maritime Academy, Frindsbury: Early Neanderthal archaeology preserved in a chalk landscape capture point
We apologise for the technical issues that affected our live stream/recording.
A small town on Hadrian's Wall? - the extramural settlement and bathhouse at Birdoswald
In the 1990s, geophysical surveys on the extramural areas of Hadrian's Wall forts demonstrated that they were more extensive than formerly believed, however very little excavation has taken pl
The evidence for early Homo sapiens in Britain: historical review and new opportunities
Recent years have seen landmark progress in our understanding of early Homo sapiens in Europe, thanks to new archaeological excavations and the application
Life on the lake: The prehistory and history of Skipsea, Holderness
The flat landscape of Holderness, East Yorkshire, was once dotted with freshwater lakes and pools.
Patches of the endless forest: landscape, monuments and remote perception in the early Neolithic of southern England
Ever since antiquarians first began to record their observations about long barrows, it has been almost universally agreed that these monuments were deliberately sited both to be seen from afar and
2025 Autumn Meeting
The Autumn Meeting will be held in Canterbury and will be led by Peter Ginn and Nathalie Cohen.
Two famous archaeologists excavate a henge in the 1930s: King Arthur's Round Table then, and its interpretation today
In 1937, the philosopher Robin Collingwood excavated a henge monument in Cumbria and identified the postholes of a series of timber buildings which he compared with those at other sites.
Cathcart Castle reconsidered
Brian Kerr will look at some of the key elements in the development of Cathcart Castle, a tower house on the south side of Glasgow, from its construction in 1450 through to its abandonment and partial demolition in c.1740.